Faculty Directory

Martin, Pino

Martin, Pino

Associate Professor
CRoCCo Laboratory Director and Founder
Aerospace Engineering
3172 Glenn L. Martin Hall


  • University of Minnesota: Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering, June 1999
    Thesis: Direct Numerical Simulation and Large Eddy Simulation Closure of
    Reacting Turbulence in Hypersonic Flows
    Advisor: Professor Graham V. Candler
  • University of Minnesota: M.S. in Aerospace Engineering, December 1995
  • Boston University: B. Eng. In Aerospace Engineering, May 1994.
    (Honors, Summa cum laude)



Current Status


  • Associate Professor Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Maryland
  • Affiliate faculty University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
  • Visiting Research Scholar, Princeton University


  • 2001–2009 Assistant Professor, Princeton University
  • 2005-2009 Affiliate Faculty, Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics, Princeton University
  • 2000–2001 Research Associate, Stanford University
  • 1999–2000 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Minnesota



  • Tewksbury Merit Scholar, University of Melbourne, Australia (2012)
  • Jefferson Fellowship Finalist, U.S. Department of State (2012)
  • Alfred Rheinstein’11 Faculty Award, Princeton University (May 2007)
  • NSF Career Award (January 2003)



Computational fluid dynamics Numerical simulation of turbulent flows Direct numerical and large eddy simulation Numerical models for large eddy simulations and Reynolds-averaged Navier Stokes calculations Numerical methods for compressible turbulence, physics of compressible turbulence Shock waves and turbulence interaction Turbulence and finite-rate chemistry interaction Surface reactions and fluid interaction

Flatau Named UMD AE Chair

Alison Flatau has been named the new chair of aerospace engineering at UMD.

Associate Professor Pino Martin Explores Turbulent Flows in UMD’s CRoCCo Laboratory

Martin helps create the engineering foundation for the accurate prediction of turbulent hypersonic flows.

Professor Pino Martin elected as AIAA Associate Fellow

Assoc. Professor, Dr. Pino Martin,has been elected to the grade of Associate Fellow in AIAA

The Aerospace Department Welcomes Dr. Pino Martin

The Aerospace Department Welcomes Associate Professor Dr. Pino Martin

Four Faculty Earn NSF CAREER Awards

Martins, Yu, Aranda-Espinoza and Marshall selected for 2007 grants.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

  • Associate Fellow